First Team vs. Hallam FC (4 : 1)

Sunday, 30 July, 2017 - 14:00

Sheffield retained their hold on the Alan Cooper Memorial Trophy, writes Bill Towning, with a well-deserved win over Hallam. Mark Hume welcomed Ritchie Humphries to the Sheffield line-up and he was influential throughout the 90 minute capping his "debut" with a fine goal. A crowd of 450 enjoyed an entertaining game and thankfully the promised bad weather held off. 

Sheffield opened the scoring mid-way through the first half, Jack Mawson the scorer after Ben Algar sent a free-kick in from the right. Lee Cooksey headed the ball back across goal and Mawson was strong enough at the back post to steer the ball home. Sheffield really should have made their superior possession count in the first period; Mawson hit the ball at the Hallam 'keeper when a foot either side would have scored and Joel Purkiss blazed over the bar when put through by Gascoigne. 

Sheffield began the second half brightly enough but Hallam equalised through Ryan Lee. From a corner, James Gregory's clearance was collected by Elliott Simpson and the ball was fizzed across goal, Butt deflecting it out into the path of Lee who scored with a fine finish. Sheffield responded well and a few moments later Gregory set off in a mazy run beating a few defenders and firing in a shot which the Hallam keeper could only palm into the path of Mohammed Tijani who restored Club's advantage.

The home side had much the better of the game from then on and the afternoon was made even more memorable for two goals of real quality; the first by Ritchie Humphries - ONLINE HERE - and the second, and Sheffield's fourth, a trademark super strike by Andrew Gascoigne. The final score was a bit harsh on the visitors but Mark Hume was delighted with the quality of Sheffield's play and the four goals scored. 

Sheffield FC: Souter, Turnbull, Algar, Humphries, Cooksey (c), Magee, Dawes, Purkiss, Mawson, Gascoigne, Gregory. Subs: Johnson, Tijani, Roney, Morton, Howe, Varley, Butt. 

Hallam FC: Darwent, Simpson, Cooper, Bamforth, Cropper, Lee, Reed, Gibson, Flynn, Dunne. Subs: Mirfin, Livett, Brammer, Wright, Fox, Diggles.